top of page
  • Writer's pictureLurgan GC

Centenary Trophy/Alison King’s Prize

This week the ladies played for a prize kindly donated by Alison King.

This was the first day of qualifying competitions and the winner Christine Maguire felt the chop of match and handicap when she reduced her handicap from 30 to 28 with her winning score of nett 71 just beating Heather Shaw on the better back nine. Christine has been regularly in the prizes and another steady round brought her the spoils of victory and she will be delighted to see her handicap reduce.

The gross prize went to Christine Hagan who is never too far away from the top of the pile. A card which featured two birdies and six pars resulted in a gross 80 and was good enough not only to secure the gross but to bring her handicap down closer to the margin to reduce to 7.

Section one went to Heather Shaw who was just edged out of the top spot and Heather will be ruing a few dropped shots on her way back to the clubhouse but her birdie at 11 and a reduction in her handicap will lift her spirits. Tara Walsh just missed out on a prize in section one but reduced her handicap to 16 so congratulations to Tara. Section two went to another steady competitor, Margaret Tate, who carded a nett 76. Margaret had two very even nines and two impressive pars at 7 and 18.

The prize for section three was a very tightly contested affair with Brenda Gallery just holding off a strong challenge from Roslyn Millar with a fine nett 72 which reduced her handicap by one. Roslyn also lost a shot from her handicap which will be some consolation for a tussle that went down to the very last hole.

Ita Hanna won the nine hole competition with 17 pts after recovering well from a dodgy start. The only two of the day, which will pay handsomely, went to Susan McMorrow.

This week also included the first stages of the competition for the Centenary Trophy, presented to the club by the late Margaret Cowdy, with the top sixteen going through to a match play challenge. The sixteen who will play off for the trophy are: Christine Maguire v Kathleen O'Hara; Paula McCracken v Margaret Tate; Christine Hagan v Anne McFadden; Tara Walsh v Alison King; Heather Shaw v Elaine Bell; Susan McMorrow v Gwen McCracken; Brenda Gallery v Anne Knox; Roslyn Millar v Roisin Anderson

Congratulations to all the winners.

151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page